7 new council members appointed to health colleges

Earlier this month, Alberta’s lieutenant governor appointed 3 new people as public members to the council of the College of Alberta Dental Assistants.

These appointments came at the recommendation of Tyler Shandro, the health minister.

  • Ayodele Adediran
  • Barbara Joy
  • Ramandeep Singh

Ayodele Adediran lives in Calgary and is a geo-information consultant with Shell. During the 2019 provincial election, he donated $1,000 to Kaycee Madu’s campaign.

Support independent journalism

Barbara Joy is also based in Calgary and is an advisor for the Canadian operations of an unnamed private exploration and production company. Prior to joining this company, she was vice-president of land for Strategic Oil & Gas.

Ramandeep Singh lives in Edmonton. In 2016, his 4-year-old daughter suffered cardiac arrest while under general anesthesia in a dental practice. Due to being without oxygen for an extended period, she sustained brain damage, which she has since partially recovered from.

Adediran and Singh were appointed to a 3-year term. Joy’s term is for 2 years.

Also announced around the same time was the appointment of Terri Rowat as a public member of the council for the College of Dental Technologists of Alberta. Rowat is retired but was an instructor in veterinary medicine at Lakeland College. Her appointment is also for 3 years.

Finally, just last week, 3 new public members were appointed to the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta.

  • Larry Fichtner
  • Linda Osinchuk
  • Crystal Phillips

Larry Fichtner is president of Entrada Resource Management, a holding company for his investments. He is also board chair of Global Talent Accelerator. Prior to these, he was board chair for S.i. Systems and executive vice-president at Veritas DGC Inc. He donated $1,400 to the United Conservative Party in 2018. He also donated $500 to the PC party in 2012, $2,000 to Alison Redford’s election campaign that same year, and $500 to Gordon Dirks’ 2014 byelection campaign.

Linda Osinchuk is a retired nurse and is currently a networking consultant. She was mayor of Strathcona County, ran as a Wildrose candidate in the 2015 provincial election, and ran against Brian Jean and Drew Barnes in the Wilrose leadership election when Danielle Smith crossed the floor to the PC party. Between 2009 and 2015, she donated $3,752.99 to the PC and Wildrose parties.

Crystal Phillips is a former speed skater and the founder of Branch Out Neurological Foundation. She is also the Thin Air Health Lead at Thin Air Labs.

All 7 of the above council members are entitled to remuneration according to Schedule 1, Part B of the Committee Remuneration Order, which includes $105 for each period 4 hours and under, $175 between 4 and 8 hours, and $280 over 8 hours conducting commission business. Council members, according to the CRO, are entitled to paid travelling and living expenses as well.

Support independent journalism

By Kim Siever

Kim Siever is an independent queer journalist based in Lethbridge, Alberta. He writes daily news articles, focusing on politics and labour.

One reply on “7 new council members appointed to health colleges”

This is a fascinating post, especially for me. I served a total of seven years on the provincial Council of the College & Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta (CARNA) between 2010 & 2018, including two as CARNA President. I am intimately conscious of the crucial role Public Members play in regulatory Colleges under the Health Professions Act.

During my time on CARNA Council, most of the Public Members were PC patronage appointments, but in my experience, that didn’t detract from their contribution — which was a surprise to me. Most acted with integrity & were constructive in their work on Council, and their political affiliations never really came to the fore. Let us hope that these appointments to CLPNA, CADA & CDTA are equally constructive.

Comment on this story

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.